Real brides: Estelle

Hallo everyone!

I’m really delighted to feature another of the beautiful brides that I have designed and made jewellery and accessories for.

I first met Estelle a while before she got engaged, and got to know her quite well before her fiancé proposed. I was really touched when she asked if I could make her jewellery and accessories for her big day. Over to Estelle to talk about her commission:

white

At what stage in the whole wedding planning process did you start thinking about your jewellery and accessories?

When I tried on wedding dresses, the ladies in the shop got me to try a few tiaras with dresses with got me thinking about it.

white

How did you decide what accessories to wear?

I always knew I wanted quite subtle, delicate jewellery, but didn’t decide properly until I met with Sonia from Gioia Mia.

white

I met Estelle one afternoon to find out about the dress she had chosen, and to hear about any ideas she already had for her jewellery and accessories. She already knew that she didn’t want to wear anything on a traditional tiara band, so decided on a comb.

We had a look through some sample freshwater pearls and Swarovski crystals, and Estelle picked out some oval freshwater pearls in white and the most beautiful combination of emerald green, eau de nil, and opaque, milky-white crystals.

I decided to use the coloured Swarovski crystals in her comb, but not her jewellery, thinking that the jewellery should the more understated of the two. So I used the freshwater pearls and the opaque, milky-white crystals for Estelle’s necklace and earring set, in a very subtle, repeating pattern of pearls and crystals. 

Estelle’s comb I kept quite low (so as not to upset the balance of her dress, veil, hairstyle and jewellery) making sure the gently curving shape framed and complemented the shape of her face. I gave it a less formal feel by not making it perfectly symmetrical, but by giving it a balanced asymmetry.

white

Estelle

white

Estelle also commissioned some clasps for each of her four bridesmaids to wear.  She was unsure how each of them was going to style their hair for her big day, and wasn’t too concerned with them all having the same hairstyle. So after looking at various options, we thought a clasp for each of them would give them the most flexibility, in terms of how each of them could wear it. 

I used some of the same freshwater pearls and Swarovski crystals that i had used for Estelle’s comb and jewellery to tie the designs together.

white

Bridesmaid

white

Is there any advice about jewellery and accessories that you would give a bride to be? 

Definitely to get it made for you as it is so personal then. Also, to be make sure you go for what you really want. Ladies at a wedding show I attended were trying to talk me into getting big tiaras when that was never what I was after. The comb I ended up getting through Gioia Mia was just so beautiful and perfect for me!

white

What did you enjoy most about having your jewellery and accessories designed and made for you?

The fact that is was so personal to me. Sonia took so much time to meet with me to really discuss what woul d suit me and be to my taste and she also went to see my wedding dress and used some of the detail to match with my jewellery. This was all so touching and made my jewellery unique to me!!

white

Estelle

white

‘Thank you again so much for making my special jewellery. It is gorgeous and just perfect. I love it!!’

Estelle

white

Thank you, Estelle, for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with my readers. And thank you so much for commissioning your jewellery and accessories from me – I really loved working with you and being part of your big day.

If you would like to have a chat about designing your own pieces, or if you’d like to make an appointment to come and see some of my ready-to-wear collection in my studio, please feel free to drop me a line. I’m always happy to chat!

white 

white

Leave a Reply

