Real brides: Lesley

Hallo everyone!

I’m really delighted to feature another of the beautiful brides that I have made jewellery and accessories for. I met Lesley at a wedding fair late last year, and enjoyed chatting and hearing her ideas from the moment she first stopped by and tried some pieces on.

Over to Lesley to talk a little more about how she decided on what jewellery and accessories to wear on her wedding day:

white

At what stage in the whole wedding planning process did you start thinking about your jewellery and accessories?

To be honest, my jewellery was one of the last things I thought about! I wanted to be sure of the dress before deciding what would go with it.

white

How did you decide what accessories to wear?

The dress decided for me. It was very plain and simple so that was the type of accessories I weas looking for. I didn’t want anything to take away from the elegance of the dress.

white

Lesley’s dress was  a beautiful Lyn Ashworth dress. It suited her perfectly, as it was very elegant and understated, and feminine too. 

white

whitewhite

Swarovski pearl bridal headband, earrings and bracelet

Image courtesy of John Carrol Photography

white

Is there any advice about jewellery and accessories that you would give a bride to be? 

The advice I would give would be to browse the wedding fairs and try on different styles and designs, even those you don’t think you would consider. I didn’t ever imaging I would pick pearls and was originally looking for something sparkly. I walked past the Gioia Mia stand at a wedding fair and the headband I picked for the day was on display. I couldn’t resist trying it on. Despite trying on loads of sparkly headbands, the pearl one stuck in my mind and nothing came close to being suitable for the dress.

white

After trying on her headband at the fair, Lesley made an appointment to pop round and see me in the studio.

We had a lovely chat about the jewellery she was thinking of commissioning to go with her dress and the headband she liked. Because of the neckline on her dress she had already decided against a necklace, but loved the thought of some earrings and a bracelet.

We kept the design of her jewellery extremely understated: just some simple drop earrings and a delicate line of pearls around her wrist, using some of the same kinds of pearls that featured in her headband. 

white

What did you enjoy most about having your jewellery and accessories designed and made for you?

 I enjoyed meeting Sonia and hearing her ideas of what would suit the style of the dress I had picked. Having pieces made specifically for me made them even more special, made sure they were unique and made me feel extra special on the day.

white

Swarovski pearl bridal headband

Image courtesy of John Carrol Photography

white

What did you enjoy most about your big day? 

 Everything! I didn’t stop smiling from start to finish.

white

What are you enjoying most about married life? 

I think the thing I’m enjoying most about married life is being able to call Campbell my husband after fifteen years of being together. It’s still feeling a bit strange though!

white

Thank you so much Lesley, for taking the time to share your  thoughts and experiences with everyone. I really loved meeting you and hearing all your ideas, and it was amazing to be part of your big day!

white

white

Credits

Photography

Thank you to John Carrol for his beautiful images of  Lesley and Campbell on their wedding day.

You can see John’s website here.

Thanwhite

white

More Gioia Mia Real Brides

Stacy’s necklace, earrings and hairpins

Jen’s comb and earrings

Alison’s comb, jewellery and bridesmaid’s jewellery and accessories

Charlotte’s earrings

Lianne’s earrings

Lynne’s tiara, jewellery and bridesmaid’s jewellery

Shona’s headband, jewellery and flower girl’s headbands

Lee-Anne’s headband

Rachel’s comb, bridesmaid’s jewellery and accessories

white

white

Gioia Mia Online

Gioia Mia website

Gioia Mia on Facebook

Gioia Mia on Twitter

Gioia Mia on Pinterest

white 

white

 

Leave a Reply

