Real brides: Jen

Hallo everyone!

I hope you’re all keeping well, and enjoying your wedding planning – for those of you that are tying the knot.

I’m really delighted to bring you another in the series of interviews featuring brides who have commissioned jewellery and accessories for their wedding day from me.

Jen commissioned a comb and a pair of earrings. Over to Jen to talk about how she decided what jewellery and accessories to wear, and about the commission process:

*white

At what stage in the whole wedding planning process did you start thinking about your jewellery and accessories?

When I tried on dresses. There was jewellery in the shop and it seemed like they made me try on every tiara, necklace and veil!

*white

How did you decide what accessories to wear?

I already knew I wanted to wear a pearl bracelet of my mum’s I’ve always loved. I think deep down I also know I wanted a tiara, I didn’t give it much thought – when else do you get a chance to wear one? I decided I didn’t want a veil as soon as I tried one on in the bridal shop. I love them on other people but I just though it looked ridiculous on me! They kept putting one on me and I kept taking it off.*white

How did you hear about Gioia Mia?

A friend had her wedding jewellery made by Gioia Mia and was in love with the process and the jewellery.

*white

Shona is Jen’s friend. You can read about her commission, and see pictures from her beautiful wedding, here.

*white 

What did you enjoy most about having your jewellery and accessories designed and made for you?

I loved that it was one of the least stressful parts of organising my wedding. I didn’t have to run around trying on loads of different pieces and struggle to choose, my tiara just sort of grew on my head! I had a meeting with Sonia and she asked me about what I like and showed me different things, and went from there. Later I had another meeting with her to see how it was going and if I was happy with it, which I was.

*white

Jen popped up to my studio and she told me about the ideas she already had. She tried on different samples I had, and decided she preferred a comb rather than a headband.

She picked out the most beautiful selection of  Swarovski crystals and pearls, in muted champagne tones, which looked just beautiful against the colour of her hair. 

For Jen’s design, I took inspiration from her dress: the overall shape of her comb echoing the sweet heart neckline of her dress, and the simple, elegant lines of her piece echoing the lines in the pleating on the bodice. 

When Jen came back to see me, she also ordered a pair of sterling silver and Swarovski crystal earrings, in one of the crystal colours she had picked for her comb. 

  *white

Image courtesy of Alasdair Stephen

*white 

Is there any advice about jewellery and accessories that you would give a bride to be? 

There’s a lot of jewellery and accessory options, so don’t feel like you have to have a particular thing to look like a bride. Pick things you love.

*white

You can see the pieces I made for Jen on my website in the ‘Real Brides’ section, as well as lots of other images of beautiful Gioia Mia brides and their commissions on their wedding day.

*white

And of course, you’re most welcome to drop me a line to arrange a time to come and have a chat about your own pieces. I’d love to hear what you have in mind!

*white

Credits

Photography

Thank you to Alastair Stephen for his beautiful image of Jen.

You can see his website here.

*white

Makeup

Jen’s makeup artist was Karen Bowen.

You can see her website here.

*white

More Gioia Mia Real Brides

Alison’s comb, jewellery and bridesmaid’s jewellery and accessories

Charlotte’s earrings

Lianne’s earrings

Lynne’s tiara, jewellery and bridesmaid’s jewellery

Shona’s headband, jewellery and flower girl’s headbands

Lee-Anne’s headband

Rachel’s comb, bridesmaid’s jewellery and accessories

Leave a Reply

